The evening started with a barbecue in the Dining Hall Quad, put together by our brilliant Catering team, after which guests moved into the Great Hall for the main event. Mrs Cooper, Director of Sport, began by welcoming everyone, and announcing a new award for the RMS Sports Personality of the Year, to be voted for by the guests that evening.

Starting with Year 7, awards were handed out for three different categories: Progress in PE, All-Rounder, and Sporting Excellence. These were interspersed with students’ annual reports, as well as spotlights on the individual nominees for the Sports Personality award.  You can see the full list of winners below.

There was also a sports quiz, in which each table of guests competed throughout the evening in rounds including dingbats, music, and making the best sports-themed playdough model.

Following those for each year group, there were overall awards for Young Leader, Services to School Sport, and Team of the Year, after which our special guest speaker, cricketer Lydia Greenway, gave a speech about her story and summarised her advice for the students with the maxim: “feel the fear and do it anyway!”

The evening’s final winners were then announced, first for the quiz, and lastly the RMS Sports Personality of the Year, Amelia.

To bring the evening to a close, we were treated to a photo montage of highlights from the past year, topped off with some lovely video messages for the students from the cyclist Eddie Dunbar, triathletes Jonny and Alistair Brownlee, and rower Sarah Outen.

Congratulations to all the winners, everyone who has taken part in sports at RMS this year, as well as all involved in this fantastic evening to celebrate it!

This year's winners were:

  Progress All Rounder Excellence
Year 7 Elena Mitchell Charlotte Byde Victoria Daley
Year 8 Hayleigh Taylor Emily Harper Aneka Patel
Year 9 Montana Geminder Isabella Janssen Carys Arnold
Year 10 Polly Berryman Holly Townshend Charlotte Clarke
Year 11 Abena Adoma Miranda Conn Amelia Daley /
Stephanie Roycroft
Senior Elena Izquierdo-Hall Katie Boxall Talia Morton-Kemsley

The Special Award winners were:

Award Winner
Young Leader Ellie Wheeler
GCSE Award Ella Peters
A Level Award Kirsty Stewart
Services to School Sport Florie Moir
Lifetime Contribution Award Talia Morton-Kemsley
RMS Team of the Year Under 15 Trampoline Team
RMS Sports Personality of the Year Amelia Daley

Congratulations to all our winners and nominees.